How can I help my suicidal sister?

S

Signatelli

So, I’m not used to making these kinds of long posts, but I’ve got nowhere else to turn to and I’m extremely desperate for help.

I am a freshman in college. I have a younger sister who is a sophomore in high school, but based on how things have been going recently, I’d wager there’s about a 50% chance she won’t make it to graduation.

She is currently in the hospital after a suicide attempt. This is the second time in four months this has happened. I’ve tried to help her before in every way I know how, but as you can see, nothing’s really worked.

Her therapist believes that she has suffered from depression since birth, since she says she’s always had feelings of self-loathing for as long as she can remember. During middle school, it took a turn for the worse. I don’t know all the details, but I do know that she was betrayed by her former best friend and was turned on by everyone she knew, and ended up becoming so unpopular that even our own cousin was telling people at school that they weren’t related. One time in particular, she took a Spring Break trip with a group of girls, only one of whom she was friends with (and the only friend who kinda-almost stuck around with her after she was betrayed by everyone else). After the trip, she was cropped out of everyone’s Instagram pictures. She later found out they were all telling people she didn’t go on the trip with them, and they ordered her “friend” not to invite her next year because she ruined all their photos by being in them.