Benefits of OCD?

K

kimkim210

Hi all,

This is a little bit unusual as seen in the title of this thread.

But before I ask, here is a brief introduction: I am currently a male college freshman who has been a sufferer of OCD all my life (as well as anxiety/hypochondria but we'll save that for later). My biggest obsessions in regards to OCD are fear of germs and always having perfection/symmetry. In regards to compulsions, I repeatedly check things over...and over...and over...and over again (the usual OCD stuff hehe). I once hit the lock button on my car 15 times in a row just to be safe that my car was locked, went back into my dorm, and then came back out to lock it another 5 times JUST TO BE SAFE. Mind you, it is not a close walk. My brain was saying "Are you sure you locked your car? What if you hit unlock while your keys were in your pocket? You should check just to be sure. Did you close all the windows in your car too? What if it rains and ruins your entire interior?"

ANYWAYS, I wanted to ask you all, do you see any benefits of having OCD? I know this is quite a bizarre question, but who says us as OCD peeps cannot enjoy what makes us...us! For me personally, I think the greatest perk in having OCD is when it comes to school. Because of my constant fear of missing a deadline, I always have reminders set and have never turned in anything late. In writing, I am able to see any small little typo/irregularity and fix it immediately. It is like having an automatic grammar-check instilled in my head. My writing is very neat and appropriately spaced/formatted. I have gotten many compliments in my papers/discussions thus far for having sophisticated, concise, and error-free writing.